GolfingStats.com has been live for a full week now! Have learned some things, have made some adjustments and will continue to make adjustments to hopefully get this thing rolling better. Please if you have any ideas or suggestions feel free to use the Contact Us link.
Given that a big part of GolfingStats is Stats here are some Week #1 GolfingStats Stats:
Number of Users Created: 23
Number of Rounds Created: 40
Number of Courses Created: 31
Average User Handicap: 18.9
Average Round Score: 89.1
Average Putts Per Round: 35.2
Average Fairway %: 36.8%
Average GIR: 26.5
My handicap after one round this season is 25.1. So I am 6.2 behind the average…I now have a goal!
In terms of future features I have some big plans…
1. Predictions: Click on a round that someone else has played and see what GolfingStat.com thinks you would shoot on that same course/tee. Also want to have some fun predictions (e.g. How would you shoot from the tips @ Augusta?)
2. Friends Tab:
a) Invite Friends: GolfingStat is great! Not enough people know about it though. You should be able to invite your Facebook friends.
b) Linking Friends: You have friends on GolfingStat.com so you should be able to see how they are playing.
c) Notifications: Be the first to know when a friend posts a new round, so that you can talk some trash or congratulate them
So I have been plugging away on this site for almost a year. I am like 95% there and just have a few more pages to finish before I am ready to release!
My plan is to generate traffic by using a free $100 in Google Adsense.
Not sure if my numbers make sense but here is what I am thinking…
I know that people will be more likely to adopt a score tracking tool earlier in the season because they are more enthusiastic about the sport in the early months. I also know if they start using a tool earlier in the season they are less likely to dump it and pick up another tool. So I need to get as many visit as possible in the first 30 days or so after launch otherwise the value of a visit will be significantly lower.
Playing around with Googles Adwords tools I figure $0.30 is a good Cost Per Click for me. This will give me about 350 visits on keywords that I think are good for my site and will use up my $100 in about 37 days.
Assuming 10% of the people who visit my landing page will sign up leaves me with about 35 users from the Adwords Campaign (Cost to acquire a user is about $2.85 per user). Assuming 25% of them actually use my product and post a round a month to Facebook and each user has about 200 Facebook friends that means I will get ~1750 open graph impressions from users posting round. Of those impressions assuming 1% of viewers click through and 50% of those sign up that means I will get 8.75 new users from Facebook open graph impressions.
|Cost Per Click
|Clicks Per Day
|Cost Per Day
|Total Clicks from Adwords
|Signup from AdWords (~10%)
|Active Users From Adwords (25%)
|Impressions on Facebook (200 Friends)
|Click Through Rate from Facebook
|Visits from Facebook
|New Users from Facebook Visits (50%)
|Total New Users
This of course does not take into account any organic search, which hopefully will supplement my user growth from Adwords and reduce me user acquisition cost.
This should all happen in the first 60 days. Since I am targeting a launch of June 1st I will check back in on August 1st and report how close/far off I was with my assumptions.